The Famous Principal Trumpets of New York Philharmonic Orchestra…

After the earth shattering news of the previous post, the retirement of legendary New York Phil Principal Trumpet Philip Smith, I was curious about who he succeeded and who had sat in that chair previously. I was especially interested because former RLPO Chief Conductor Gerard Schwarz had sat there in the 1970s. Well, here is the list, and it is quite a list of legends…

1988-Current_______Phil Smith
1978-1988_________Phil Smith (Co-Principal)
1973-1988_________John Ware (Co-Principal)
1977-1978_________Louis Ranger (Acting Co-Principal)
1973-1977_________Gerard Schwarz (Co-Principal)
1942-1973_________William Vacchiano
1928-1942_________Harry Glantz


About brendanball

Professional Trumpeter: Soloist, Orchestra Player, Chamber Music, Contemporary Music & Education.
This entry was posted in The Trumpet o-iii<O and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s